Pestilence to release new full-length

Veteran progressive tech metallers Pestilence are gearing up for the July release of their sixth full-length album

The legendary outfit will release the album, titled Doctrine, to the North American masses on July 9th. The 11-track long player was recorded and mixed at Woodshed Studio in southern Germany with Pestilence vocalist/guitarist Patrick Mameli, as well as Yuma van Eekelen and Victor Bullok (Triptykon, Dark Fortress) and offers up a torrent of thought-provoking lyrics, dissonant chords, complex rhythm patterns and low-tuned riffs. While not a 'concept album' in the traditional sense, the record is largely based around the various ways humanity often suffers under the burden of religion and politics.

'I always put a lot of effort in the lyrics,' comments Mameli. 'I never felt the need to write ‘gore’ lyrics, like so many other bands do. I am aware of what is going on in the world and I have the feeling that I have something to say about it.'

Doctrine Track Listing:

01. The Predication 
02. Amgod
03. Doctrine
04. Salvation
05. Dissolve
06. Absolution
07. Sinister
08. Divinity
09. Deception
10. Malignant 
11. Confusion  

Check out the cover art for Doctrine, by Marko Saarelainen, here

Pestilence's Doctrine is out July 9th, 2011, via Mascot Records