Machine Head: New Album Details, Tour Dates Unveiled

The followup to Unto the Locust is nigh!

Bay Area Metal Titans Machine Head, will release their eighth full-length album and Nuclear Blast Entertainment debut entitled Bloodstone & Diamonds, this (Northern) Autumn! The record was once again produced by Robb Flynn himself and Juan Urteaga (Testament, Vile), and like the last 7 out of 8 albums, was masterfully mixed by Colin Richardson (Carcass, Fear Factory, Slipknot, Behemoth, Devildriver). Additional tracking, editing, and mixing was done with heavy metal legend Andy Sneap (Exodus,Testament, Arch Enemy, Accept, Megadeth) and Steve Lagudi.  

“I cannot even begin to tell you how proud we are of this album,” comments frontman Robb Flynn.  “It's been a heck of a ride.  It looked like it might not ever happen again at one point, but man, this album is a milestone for us. You're going to love it Head Cases.”  

“Without getting too philosophical on ya, bloodstone and diamonds represent two of the hardest materials on earth, it is also a lyric from the opening track of the album Now We Die.  In many cultures the bloodstone has been used as an amulet to protect against evil, and is the symbol of justice. Diamonds and are hardest natural material on earth (which is how we feel about our music), and it also represents the diamond logo I drew 22 years ago (in my wife's apartment on Dover St. in Oakland) that has become the symbol for the band.”

Bloodstone & Diamonds track listing:

Now We Die

Killers & Kings

Ghosts Will Haunt My Bones

Night Of Long Knives

Sail Into The Black

Eyes Of The Dead

Beneath The Silt

In Comes The Flood

Damage Inside

Game Over

Imaginal Cells (instrumental)

Take Me Through The Fire

Adds Flynn:

“10 songs, an interlude, and an instrumental with an audio collage of spoken word snippets (think Real Eyes, Realize, Real Lies) by Dr. Bruce Lipton and Steve Bhaerman, taken from their (incredibly inspiring) audiobook Spontaneous Evolution.”

“Guest musicians include 2 different string quartets featuring the original Quartet Rouge that appeared on our last album Unto The Locust. And a new all-male quartet which we featured on the song In Comes The Flood. String arrangements for 2 of the songs  Now We Die and Sail Into The Black came courtesy of myself and Rhys Fulber who has worked with everyone from Sarah McLachlan, to Fear Factory, and the string arrangement for In Comes The Flood came courtesy of myself and ex-Worship and current-Bring Me the Horizon keyboardist Jordan Fish, who is a producer in his own right.”

 “We worked with several artists to complete the 28 page (!) ‘standard’ CD booklet, as well as the 48 page (!) hardcover leather-bound Media-book that will serve as the special edition, including Rafal Wechterowicz, Marcelo Vasco, and long-time Machine Head art-collaborator Strephon Taylor. The theme was to have both CD and hardcover Mediabook look like an old Alchemy book from the 1800's, with weathered edges, sepia toned pages, and magic/masonic/alchemy themed woodcarvings throughout.” 


Make sure you catch Machine Head on their summer run and headlining tour later this year:



15.08 Dinkelsbühl - Summer Breeze

16.08 Hamburg - Elbriot

17.08 Herford - X Festival

19.08 Aarhus - Train

21.08 Stavanger - Folken

22.08 Gothenburg - Tradgarn



07.11 Strasbourg   - Laiterie

10.11 Paris - Batacla

12.11 Toulouse - Bikini

17.11 Marseille - Espace Julien

06.12 London - Roundhouse

07.12 London - Roundhouse

09.12 Portsmouth - Guildhall

10.12 Bristol - Academy

11.12 Plymouth - Pavillions

13.12 Glasgow - Academy 2

14.12 Leeds - Academy

16.12 Manchester - Apollo

17.12 Nottingham - Rock City

18.12 Birmingham - Academy

19.12 Dublin - Academy