Vipassi Premiere 'Benzaiten' from Forthcoming Album 'Sunyata' through Metal As Fuck

Now Vipassi add a new chapter to the story with the instrumental highlight 'Sunyata'.

Instrumental music traditionally has a harder time in metal as in other genres. All too often, virtuoso musicians have used their talent mainly to stroke already massive egos. Yet bands like Animals As Leaders have demonstrated that ambitious skills and passionate song writing can be fused into something greater, which appeals far beyond the grudging respect of colleagues.

With 'Sunyata', Vipassi offer such a rare album that combines ecstatic technical virtuosity with a love of creating atmospheric soundscapes, sparkling melodies, and captivating passages.

Vipassi were birthed in 2009 by guitarist Ben Boyle and members of Australia's Ne Obliviscaris, which marked the beginning of a long journey of writing and rehearsing. They soon settled on an instrumental style that captured the openness aimed to allow any listener to interpret and connect with the material subjectively.

Their project represents a desire to explore beauty and darkness in all its shades, through melodic and complex compositions that are bemused in themes of the struggles of the human experience, exploring nature, spirituality and science. The roots of their sound reach back into a time when bands such as Atheist and Cynic began to reform extreme music by infusing jazz and progressive elements into death metal.

Now Vipassi add a new chapter to the story with the instrumental highlight 'Sunyata'.

Dig deep into this musical treasure trove spilling over with shiny details, glittering melodies, and wealth of rhythm patterns.

The album is released in January 2017 and the first track from the debut ‘Benzaiten’ can be viewed here:

Track List

1. Gaia

2. Benzaiten

3. Jove

4. Sum

5. Elpis

6. Paradise

7. Samsara


Ben Boyle: guitars

Dan Presland: drums

Brendan Brown: bass

Benjamin Baret: lead guitar