Avenged Sevenfold announce title and release date for upcoming album

The new Avenged Sevenfold album, 'Nightmare', will be out on Warner Music on 30 July 2010.


Southern California’s Avenged Sevenfold have announced the title and release date for their upcoming fifth studio album: Nightmare will be released by Warner Music on July 30th, 2010.  

The album’s explosive first single (and title track) hits radio on May 24th, and will be available from all digital service providers on Friday, May 21st. Nightmare was produced by Mike Elizondo and mixed by noted engineer Andy Wallace.  More details about Nightmare will be available in the coming weeks.

Avenged Sevenfold achieved worldwide success with their 2005 breakthrough City Of Evil. The album featured the wildly popular single Bat Country. The band quickly became known for their spectacular live shows and continues to sell out arenas worldwide. They are the only band to have headlined the Vans Warped Tour and Ozzfest while simultaneously hitting #1 on MTV's TRL. 

In 2006, they won the award for fan-voted Best New Artist category for Bat Country at the MTV Video Music Awards. In 2007, their self-titled album Avenged Sevenfold debuted at #1 on the Billboard Alternative, Hard, and Rock Charts and #4 on the Billboard Top 200 album chart in the U.S.  It spawned the singles Almost Easy, Afterlife, and Scream, and has sold over a million units worldwide. In 2008, the band captured their magnificent stage show onLive in the LBC & Diamonds in the Rough, a live CD/DVD that has since been certified platinum in the U.S.

Over the years, Avenged Sevenfold has built a fanatical fanbase that includes more than one million fans on Facebook. They have also attracted 93 million plays on MySpace. Avenged Sevenfold last toured Australia in 2008 with Bullet For My Valentine and Atreyu, playing to over 20,000 fans in Brisbane, Sydney, Adelaide, Perth and Melbourne.

In August, Avenged Sevenfold will set out co-headlining the first annual Rockstar Energy Drink UPROAR Festival in the U.S with Disturbed. Also on the bill are Stone Sour, Halestorm, and Hell Yeah. The UPROAR tour, which will hit amphitheatres and arenas, marks the band’s first tour since the passing of beloved friend and drummer Jimmy "The Rev" Sullivan. Mike Portnoy from Dream Theater plays drums on Nightmare and will also tour with the band for UPROAR.